The Victorian Farm


I am writing a creative nonfiction about the Ryall family. It is set in Warminster, Wiltshire, England, from the 1700s to 1870. In 1866, Benajmin Ryall, the youngest son, and his wife made a Honeymoon trip to the United States. The couple came to Saratoga Springs, New York.

In England, they were farmers and gardeners. I am watching a Documentary on Victorian Farming. The Farm Book was written in the 19th Century. I purchased a new book through Kindle titled: Henry Stephens’s Book of the Farm. It is wonderful that I am able to purchase the book on Victorian farming written by the original author in the 19th century. Henry Stephens’s Book of the Farm: is a concise and revised edition.

By reading the original book on Victorian Farming, I can write a more intricate farming history during the Victorian Era. Significant changes were happening in England in agriculture and the Industrial Revolution. There was a direct effect on my own family and why I am a 5th generation Saratogian. I am proud to say I am a gardener and environmental educator.

Leave a Comment