Poem reaches out from the past


My lifelong friend Ruthie Masetta-Hillman sent me a poem that I wrote back in high school. I didn’t realize that I was already introspective then and curiosity led me to follow a unique path in life that questioned realities of Third World, First World, World Cultures and Ethnobotany in Latin America and North America.

Yes, I wrote a poem and here it is:

The feeling is mutual,

I know because I asked.

Have you wondered about old age?

How long will it last?

Will I have as many friends

as in my youth, when I was spree,

Or will I be alone,

with only me.

Will my family stay by me,

until the day I die,

or will they forget me

and let their lives walk on by.

I only hope, I only pray

when life ages my way

that my loved ones will remain with me,

until my dying day.

I recently saw an old movie of Percy Bysshe Shelly and his friends. A verse struck me when he said, “We will never row in the same boat again.” I literally saw and felt the awfulness of perhaps leaving the Earth and never seeing our loved ones again. I have to hope that I will see them, husband, Tia my dog, and our three cats Dulce, Sombra and Baby. I miss them terribly and look to be united again. What death doesn’t teach you. It is final and there is nothing more one can do to bring them back, outside of meditation and connectiveness in heart, thought, and listening to whispered nuggets on the wind as if sent from somewhere beyond. To learn more about Shelly, visit http://www.poemhunter.com/percy-bysshe-shelley/biography/

Often I took life for granted and that includes my husband. If I had only realized that his intelligence and science exploration asked big questions, which I would never hear pondered again. He was brilliant. I was the chatter box. He the thinker.

I have had two dreams of afterlife also that give me hope. Someday I will jot them down for Insectamonarca friends. Image

poet Percy Bysshe Shelley

Percy Bysshe Shelley

Do you like this poet?

“Shelley, born the heir to rich estates and the son of an Member of Parliament, went to University College, Oxford in 1810, but in March of the following year he and a friend, Thomas Jefferson Hogg, were both expelled for the suspected authorship of a pamphlet entitled The Necessity of Atheism.”

Leave a Reply

