A Day in a Life Beyond Death


June 11, I was thinking today about my husband, (d 2010). I guess it is because our Wedding Anniversary is tomorrow, June 12. Today I was writing about the Sulphur butterfly in the Field Guide I am writing. While I was writing the description, I was having flashbacks to my own personal experience with one sulphur species.

Image

It was years ago, while walking down a hill in Minong, WI, I saw a pink-edged Sulpher (Colias interior) get hit by a car while it was flying across the road. I immediately knew the butterfly couldn’t get out of harms way. A second later, there it was left on the road without a thought of concern by the driver, who probably never even noticed. I walked over to the butterfly and saw it was still alive, but permanently damaged. It could not fly. I picked it up and carried it down the hill. All the while I sang an honor song to the butterfly while it lightly tapped my finger with its beautiful pink feet. I couldn’t help but see how beautiful the butterfly was and it made me cry and again today. This is called grieving.

When we got down to the bottom of the hill, I walked over to a grassy area and said goodbye to my insect friend. I put her down in the grass. To this day I will never forget my bond with that  butterfly. Later in the day, I walked back to the site and saw that she was gone.

I miss my husband too and the pink-edge sulphur comes to remind me that even in death we are still attached by an invisible thread connecting us to the cosmos.

Photo copyright Kathy Keatley Garurg, Butterflies and Moths Organization.

4 Comments

  1. Akasa WolfSong said,

    June 11, 2013 at 6:22 pm

    What a beautiful tribute to your Beloved and Butterfly, Grandmother..
    My eyes are filled with tears. You speak so lovingly and full-heartedness…I’m sure both can feel your tender spirit sending love their way. I too believe in the threads that tie us to the Cosmos…very much so.

    I will remember You Dear One and your Beloved tomorrow by lighting a candle and singing my own honor song for all of you.

    May You Be Wrapped in Great Mystery’s Shawl of Love,
    Akasa

    • June 13, 2013 at 2:47 pm

      Thank you Grandmother Wolfsong. I spent a beautiful day yesterday and feel certain it was because I had wings around me with your prayers and intentions.

      Memengwaa Ikway

  2. WilderSoul said,

    June 13, 2013 at 1:24 pm

    Brought tears to my eyes. Such gracious grieving. And a precious moment of loving kindness and remembrance.

    • June 13, 2013 at 2:46 pm

      Thank you Anasera of Wildersoul. I really did spend a beautiful day yesterday.


Leave a Reply

