Orchid Mystique – Nature’s Triumph


Orange orchid

Orange orchid

I was in Washington, DC, the first week in April 2012. One of my favorite flowers is the orchid. Orchids were on exhibit. I felt privileged to be drowned in the beauty and fragrance of orchids. All time slipped away. I even forgot my companion who was with me and had to page her. I just sort of wandered off.

The annual orchid exhibit, in collaboration with Smithsonian Gardens, features orchids from around the globe.

A visit to tranquility

A visit to tranquility

Some of the orchid gardens exhibit the tranquil setting evocative of Japanese gardens.

Near the refection pool, I felt overwhelmed by the beauty that surrounded me. Inticing fragrances wafted the air and drew me in.

Then a walk in the Japanese garden was a moment of introspection. How could I have moved from a few blocks away from my favorite United States Botanical Garden to far away Calvert County, MD in December 1994? It was a time when my husband’s federal career moved to the suburbs and it was no longer feasible to live in the city.

How I missed seeing and swelling the intoxicating blossoms.  There was a time when I saw orchids in the wild, when I lived in South America in the 1970s.

I used to see this orchid on trees in Venezuela and Colombia when I lived there in the 1970s.

I used to see this orchid on trees in Venezuela and Colombia when I lived there in the 1970s.

Princess Diana is remembered with orchids. There is an orchid named for her.

Princess Diana Red Baron Orchid

Princess Diana Red Baron Orchid

This orchid is called Red Baron for the princess who gave her heart to humanity.

Time is so fleeting. Tears well up as I remember how blessed I was to live the life I dreamed. Since I was a child, I wanted to go to South America. As a young woman I did. I found work abroad so that I could live there.

Like this orchid, I am fading too. I turn 67 years old on April 30.  Going back to DC reminded me that I really did  live the life I wanted to experience. Nothing lasts forever, my grandmother always told me. Why our spirits feel so young in an aging body is beyond my understanding.  I am grateful for everything. Even the bad times taught me something valuable. I am writing more in this later years because I know this is a way of staying connected.

Be well insectamonarca friends where ever you are.

Leave a Reply

