After the storm landscaping decisions


I have made a conscious decision to plant the property with native habitat after Minong suffered a straight line wind and rain storm on July 1. It could have even been a tornado for all we knew. My life span isn’t long enough to see tall red pines grow again. At least I have a rescued spruce on the back property and it is a joy to my heart to see it growing. I hired Sharon Tarras to draw up an edible landscape design for me. Sharon designed a large butterfly garden on the front property which will decrease my mowing substantially. You see my little redwood house sits on a 1/2 acre in the village. The back property is already being converted to native prairie habitat. The next step will be to implement native shrubs along the southern border that will act as a privacy screen from a driveway and building next door. It will take a few years for it to grow tall enough to give me and wildlife some shelter but I am moving forward with this intention.

I have added the following information to the National Butterfly Association Web site: “The weather is getting colder and has dropped to the low 40s over the past few nights. I was stunned to see a Monarch Butterfly yesterday, Sept. 20, 2011, thinking that the butterfly should have been on its way south to Mexico by now. I hope it will have time to fly out of northern zone.”

Also saw a sulphur, a tiny (1 inch) American copper and a cabbage white. It was warm yesterday and in the high 70s. Today is in the 40-50 degree F. range. The chrysalis was found empty after the straight line storm on July 1, 2011. A monarch was born after a raging wind storm of 100 mph. The bench it was on was under a downed red pine tree. A kind logger was able to gently get the bench out and the chrysalis lived and a monarch was born.

I am reading Bringing Nature Home, by Douglas W. Tallamy. I already know how important native habitat is. I am the executive director of a nonprofit environmental education organization and public charity. Happy Tonics created a Native Remnant Tallg

American copper

American copper

rass Prairie in Shell Lake that is dedicated as a Monarch Butterfly Habitat.

Photo: American Copper copyright Duke University from Google image Picasa photo program

2 Comments

  1. October 19, 2011 at 5:14 am

    Nice n informational blog post, i enjoyed reading it.

    • October 19, 2011 at 2:02 pm

      Thank you Retaining Walls Omaha. One can always learn from nature. Appreciate your comment.


Leave a Reply

