Today’s weather was perfect for nap outside


In the late afternoon I decided to rest in the hammock. At first a flicker flew right over me and I could hear its wings. Then I peeked out over the hammock edge to see the bird enjoying a good soak in the bird bath. Adorable.

Next I heard a bluejay. Soon another flicker arrived on the scene and was in the tree above me. With bird harmony I fell asleep to the sound of crickets serenading me. What could be more peaceful on a beautiful fall day. Perfect!

Meadow Fritillary giant on raindeer moss. Not sure who took the photo.

Meadow Fritillary giant on raindeer moss. Not sure who took the photo.

I saw a fritillary butterfly today on the front property earlier in the afternoon. A friend from Land and Water Conservation came to advise me on shrubs that would act as an eight foot privacy screen. He suggested I do several rows. A lower canapy shrub row and then a wildflower area below the shrubs. I am getting excited to learn more about upcoming landscaping options as we explore how to turn this landscape into an edible landscape for me and for wildlife. The idea is to remove more of the lawn area and make more native habitat. I am grateful to have friends in the nature business. They are such a help to me.

4 Comments

  1. Akasa WolfSong said,

    September 8, 2011 at 10:22 am

    Sounds like a lovely way to spend an afternoon…communing with your spirit and the spirits of the land and creatures who grace your space.

    What a beautiful moth!

    Many Blessings Kindred Sister!
    Akasa

    • September 10, 2011 at 11:07 pm

      Dear kindred sister Akasa,

      It was one of those days today and I simply didn’t have the energy to go outside this afternoon after commuting over 60 miles this morning to get rid of hazardous waste. Today was the day to bring all old prescriptions, paints, floresence lights etc. to Northwest Regional Planning Commission Recycling. So happy to have the garage and basement cleared of old items. Happy day. It was heavenly a few days ago out in the hammock. Miigwetch for comment.

  2. Akasa WolfSong said,

    September 8, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    Correction…what a beautiful butterfly, lol By the way…in our last rain storms moving through last Saturday, my MilkWeed was beaten down and many of the pods lay on the ground, although I am not alarmed about that…maybe the seeds will plant themselves from there now.
    I was checking them out yesterday and so far no coccoons. Perhaps I will have none as I’ve only had one Monarch fly through here, or at least that is all I’ve spotted and I’m out everyday. I do hope one coccoons on my Milkweed here.

    Blissings…

    • September 10, 2011 at 11:03 pm

      Greetings Akasa,

      Not to worry about your milkweed. New growth comes from rizones also. If you spotted one monarch, I feel certain there were more. After the female lays eggs on milkweed, she flutters off and in shortly thereafter her life will end. The new generation takes her place. Pupa or chrysalis are hard to locate because the monarch caterpillar feels it is better to walk away from the milkweed and choose a more secluded spot to turn into the next stage of their life. I have only seen a few chrysalis in my life. So delighted you are so bonded with our little friend.


Leave a Reply

