Monarch Butterfly Chatbook – Wings in Chrysalis


MONARCH WINGS IN A CHRYSALIS

As the butterfly develops, the chrysalis changes from a jewel like lime green color to a dark color. At this stage the butterfly is developing inside and wings may be visible to the naked eye. As the butterfly nears emergence, the chrysalis turns transparent.

a bean plant grew in the garden with a hanging chrysalis attached to a leaf. A rabbit had eaten a large portion of the bean leaf. For days on end, I visited the bean plant to see how the chrysalis was doing. It was unnerving to witness the fact that the chrysalis was quite exposed now because of the nibbling.  Fortunately the monarch was about to be born and I was at hand to witness the birth of the monarch butterfly during the first three hours of the butterfly’s life.

2 Comments

  1. Akasa WolfSong said,

    March 28, 2011 at 12:07 am

    What a miracle moment that must have been! 🙂

  2. March 31, 2011 at 1:28 am

    I couldn’t have been more concerned if it had been my own child. I had a pad and pen, wore a hat and had a bottle of water. I was on my stomach for three hours with a camera and I talked to the butterfly. At that time, I wrote, “I wonder what the monarch butterfly is trying to teach me?” I think it is obvious now. I am executive director of Happy Tonics, Inc. a nonprofit environmental education organization; Mission: Sanctuary for the Monarch Butterfly. Never did I dream when I witnessed the miracle of the monarch’s chrysalis over several weeks and first hours of life that it would lead to here and beyond.


Leave a Reply

